Do you use Google Analytics? Do you want all your data to go down the drain? Will you be prepared so it’s there when you need it? Keep reading, then.
User and Event Data Retention
On May 25th, 2018, Google Analytics is changing their retention periods for how long data can be stored before they are automatically deleted. Keep in mind, that the user and event data managed by this setting is only needed when certain advanced features are used, like applying custom segments to reports or creating unusual custom reports. Don’t worry, MB Marketing has done this for all their clients already!
When does my data go away?
When data reaches the end of the retention period, it is deleted automatically monthly. Whenever the retention period is modified, Analytics waits 24 hours before making the change. If you revert to your old settings within that 24-hour period, no changes will be made.
Reset on New Activity
The “Reset on New Activity” option should be turned on if you want each new event created to refresh the expiry period, essentially never deleting your data. If no new events are created within the period, the data will automatically delete within the chosen term.
If after reading all of this you still don’t think it’s a big deal to lose all your website data collected over months or years, potentially telling you valuable information about your business, do nothing. If you need a professional to take care of it for you, let MB Marketing help. One less thing for you and your business to worry about is why we’re here!